A by-election for an extraordinary vacancy for one member from the Mt Herbert Subdivision of the Banks Peninsula Community Board will be held on Tuesday 18 February 2020.

Voting documents will be posted to all eligible electors from Monday 27 January 2020. Voting closes at noon on Tuesday 18 February 2020.

Electors can post completed voting documents back to the Electoral Officer using the pre-paid envelope sent with voting papers or deliver them to the Diamond Harbour Library, Lyttelton Library and Customer Services or the Council Civic Offices before the close of voting.

Mt Herbert Subdivision candidates 

Candidate Affiliation
Dawn Sutton Independent
Scott Winter Independent

The by-election will be conducted by postal vote using the First Past the Post voting electoral system, under the provisions of the Local Electoral Act 2001 and Local Electoral Regulations 2019.

Candidates can check out useful information here(external link) and read the 2019 Candidate Information Booklet here [PDF, 30 MB].

The Electoral Officer for this by-election is Jo Daly at the Christchurch City Council. Jo can be contacted by phone on 03 941 8581 or 027 236 9052 or email at jo.daly@ccc.govt.nz.

Key dates

Date Action
Monday 25 November 2019 Nominations open, electoral roll opens
Noon on Monday 23 December 2019 Nominations close, electoral roll closes
Monday 27 January 2020 Voting opens, voting documents start being delivered
Tuesday 18 February 2020 Election day (voting closes at noon), progress results released
Wednesday 19 February 2020 Preliminary results released
Monday 24 February 2020 Public notice of final results

Special voting

A polling place for the issuing of special voting documents and for the receiving of completed voting documents will be available Monday to Friday at the following locations between Monday 27 January and noon Tuesday 18 February 2020:

  • The Council’s Civic Offices, 53 Hereford Street, Christchurch, 9am to 5pm
  • Lyttelton Library and Customer Services (Customer Services Desk), 18 Canterbury Street, Lyttelton, 10am to 6pm
  • By contacting the Electoral Officer on 03 941 8581 or jo.daly@ccc.govt.nz to get special voting papers posted to you

Public notices

First notice of by-election, November 2019 [PDF, 125 KB]

Further notice of by-election, December 2019 [PDF, 459 KB]